High Availability Architectures Overview

Principle of high availability modules

A high availability module is a customization of SafeKit for an application. There are two types of modules: the mirror module with real-time data replication and failover and the farm module with load balancing and failover.

High availability architecture

In practice, an application module is a “.Safe” file (zip type) including:

1 - the configuration file userconfig.xml which contains:

2 - the scripts to start and stop the application.

Plug and play deployment of high availability modules

Once an application module is configured and tested with an application, deployment requires no specific IT skills:

1 - install application on 2 standard servers (physical or virtual),
2 - install the SafeKit software on both servers,
3 - install the application module on both servers.

High availability architectures: the different software clusters

SafeKit offers two basic clusters:

Several application modules can be deployed on the same cluster. Thus, advanced clustering architectures can be implemented:

Examples of high availability modules on Windows and Linux

Download the High Availability module + a free trial + the installation instructions

Mirror modules



Microsoft SQL ServerWindows module-
OracleWindows moduleLinux module
MySQLWindows moduleLinux module
PostgreSQLWindows moduleLinux module
FirebirdWindows moduleLinux module
Hyper-VWindows module-
Milestone XProtect (based on Microsoft SQL Server)Windows module-
Hanwha SSM (based on PostgreSQL)Windows module-
Generic moduleWindows moduleLinux module

Farm modules



IIS moduleWindows module-
Apache moduleWindows moduleLinux module
Generic moduleWindows moduleLinux module

Evidian SafeKit Pricing

White Papers


To receive Evidian news, please fill the following form.